Wilmington HotelsWilmington AdvertiseWilmington AttractionsWilmington BeachesWilmington Business DirectoryWilmingtonWilmingtonWilmington GolfWilmington JobsWilmington NewsWilmington DiningWilmington Weather
     

 

 

Wilmington, NC News

  Free Wilmington Travel Guide!

Getting through to customer service by using Twitter

Body

Getting customer service can be frustrating. Try hanging up the phone and “tweeting” your service needs. Many customers are venting their frustration through Twitter, and companies are starting to listen.

“Every time you think you’re fixing to get an individual, you get another number to punch and I don’t like that, I prefer to speak to someone in person,” said Cathy Wilson.

If you’re fed up with calling customer service for help, you now have another option…Twitter.

Companies like Home Depot and Best Buy are helping customers almost instantaneously through tweets.

“It’s kind of a shame that people are forced to go out into the public forum like that to get any attention that kind of tells us how bad customer service is degraded but at least what we’ve learned is many companies now that are interested in good customer service and keeping a good brand reputation are online and they are responding,” said social media consultant Tim Moore.

Other companies may be jumping on the twitter bandwagon to save their reputation.

If you try this route, Tim Moore says watch out for scams since the response you receive may not be coming from the company. Some companies have hired customer service representatives to respond to the tweets. Here’s a partial list of people who have Twitter accounts (Twitter account name in parenthesis).

# Will Pate: Community Evangelist – ConceptShare (http://twitter.com/willpate)
# Mario Sundar: Community Evangelist – Linkedin (mariosundar)
# Eric Skiff: Community Evangelist – Clipmarks (ericskiff)
# Marilyn Pratt: Community Evangelist – SAP Labs (marilynpratt)
# Brett Meyers: Community Evangelist – Zloop (brettmeyers)
# Ryan Knight: Community Manager – Yahoo (yank)
# Jennifer Puckett : Community Manager – Disney (?)
# Jim Lynch: Community Manager – Ziff Davis (jwlynch)
# Jake McKee: Community Guy – Formerly Lego (jakemckee)
# William Azaroff: Community Engagement – VanCity (wazaroff)
# Carole McManus: Community Specialist, formerly Yahoo 360 (puttopal)
# Asa Dotzler: Catastrophist, Mozilla (asadotzler)
# Anand Iyer: Developer Evangelist – Microsoft (anandiyer)

Story image

twitter300.jpg

Story summary

videoGetting customer service can be frustrating. Try hanging up the phone and “tweeting” your service needs. Many customers are venting their frustration through Twitter, and companies are starting to listen.

Story summary image

twitter150.jpg

Associated poll

More: continued here

Be Sociable, Share!
 

Archives

News provided by WWAY NewsChannel 3 and the StarNewsOnline

|Home| |Events| |Attractions| |Accommodations| |Restaurants| |Golf| |Beaches| |Jobs| |Getting Here| |Climate| |Directory| |News| |Advertise| |Contact Us|

 
 
  Welcome to Wilmington, North Carolina