Wilmington HotelsWilmington AdvertiseWilmington AttractionsWilmington BeachesWilmington Business DirectoryWilmingtonWilmingtonWilmington GolfWilmington JobsWilmington NewsWilmington DiningWilmington Weather



Wilmington, NC News

  Free Wilmington Travel Guide!

Storm victims can apply for disaster assistance in seven NC counties

RALEIGH, N.C. (AP) — Survivors of Hurricane Irene in seven North
Carolina counties may now apply for federal disaster assistance.

State Emergency Management Director Doug Hoell said Wednesday
that assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home
repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and
other programs to help recover from Irene. The seven counties are
Beaufort, Carteret, Craven, Dare, Hyde, Pamlico and Tyrrell.

Hoell says people who suffered damage due to Irene should first
call their insurance company, then register with the Federal
Emergency Management Agency.

Hoell said even those with insurance may be eligible for help
from FEMA if their insurance does not cover all their needs. He
also said any government financial assistance is designed to help
get people back on their feet, not to pay all their expenses.

(Copyright 2011 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

More: continued here

Be Sociable, Share!


News provided by WWAY NewsChannel 3 and the StarNewsOnline

|Home| |Events| |Attractions| |Accommodations| |Restaurants| |Golf| |Beaches| |Jobs| |Getting Here| |Climate| |Directory| |News| |Advertise| |Contact Us|

  Welcome to Wilmington, North Carolina